Gas Significant Code Review (SCR)

The Significant Code Review (SCR) mechanism is designed to facilitate complex and significant changes to the codes that energy companies are required to abide by. It enables Ofgem to to undertake a review of a code-based issue and play a leading role in facilitating code changes through a review process.

The Gas Security of Supply SCR focuses on measures to enhance security of gas supply by reducing the likelihood, severity and duration of a Gas Deficit Emergency (a period when the supply of available gas is not sufficient to meet GB demand).

Gas SCR proposals include increasing the incentives on shippers to avoid an emergency, encouraging voluntary demand side response, and ensuring that consumers are paid appropriately if their gas supply is interrupted in an emergency.

As part of our Gas Security of Supply Significant Code Review we have held a number of stakeholder engagement events.

 

 

Publications and updates

  • Published: 7th Jul 2016
  • Decisions
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter outlines our decision to approve National Grid Gas plc's (NGG) amended methodology for a gas demand-side response (DSR) mechanism.

  • Published: 21st Sep 2015
  • Decisions
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter sets out our decision to approve National Grid Gas plc (NGG’s) methodology for a gas demand-side response (DSR) mechanism.

  • Published: 20th May 2015
  • Decisions
  • 1 Associated documents
In this letter, we set out our decision to direct National Grid Gas (NGG) to proceed with trialling a gas demand-side response (DSR) mechanism.

  • Published: 27th Oct 2014
  • Guidance, Open letters and correspondence
  • 2 Associated documents
We have since identified errors in the implementation dates specified in the directions for the changes to the Gas Supply and Gas Shipper licences. This correction confirms these amendments will take effect from 1 October 2015.

  • Published: 23rd Sep 2014
  • Decisions
  • 5 Associated documents
This document confirms our decisions to reform gas cash-out arrangements in an emergency.

  • Published: 16th Jun 2014
  • Closed: 16th Jul 2014
  • Consultations and responses
  • 9 Associated documents
This is our statutory consultation on changes to the gas transporter, shipper and supply licences as part of the Gas Security of Supply Significant Code Review.

  • Published: 12th Feb 2014
  • Decisions
  • 1 Associated documents
The aim of the Gas Security of Supply Significant Code Review is to reduce the likelihood, severity and duration of a gas supply emergency. This document describes our policy decision on a demand-side response mechanism, the principles we think it should...

  • Published: 12th Feb 2014
  • Closed: 9th Apr 2014
  • Consultations and responses
  • 14 Associated documents
Our Gas SCR final policy decision document describes our policy decisions on a demand side response mechanism.

  • Published: 12th Feb 2014
  • Other
  • 2 Associated documents
This impact assessment should be read alongside our Gas SCR policy decision document, which explains our proposals. It looks at the costs and benefits of our policy and builds on previous impact assessments that we have published as part of the Gas SCR.

  • Published: 23rd Jul 2013
  • Decisions
  • 1 Associated documents
We published our proposed final decision on the Gas Security of Supply Significant Code Review (Gas SCR) in July 2012. This letter updates stakeholders on revisions to the proposals contained in that document.

Pages