Retail Market Review

We launched the Retail Market Review in late 2010 due to concerns that the energy market was not working effectively for consumers.

The review recognised that while we had seen some improvements since the 2008 Energy Supply Probe, many of the barriers to effective consumer engagement remained. These barriers included the complexity of tariff options, the poor quality of information provided to consumers and low levels of trust in energy suppliers. 

Where we are now

We have worked with Office of Fair Trading and the Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) to carry out a review of competition in the GB energy market. This found that competition wasn't working as well as it should for consumers and led us to make a market investigation reference to the CMA. You can find out more at State of competition in the energy market assessment.

Following the CMA review we have implemented changes to the Retail Market Review rules and we propose to make further changes. We had always envisaged that a number of the Retail Market Review rules would help to reset the market and would likely be removed over time.

Key publications arising from the Retail Market Review

The key publications arising from the review are our final proposals and the new Standards of Conduct:

Domestic consumers

The Retail Market Review – Implementation of Simpler Tariff Choices and Clearer Information [pdf]
Implementation of the domestic Standards of Conduct –decision to make licence modifications

Non-domestic (micro-business) consumers

Implementation of the Retail Market Review non-domestic proposals – decision to make licence modifications (June 2013)
New standards of conduct for suppliers - business consumers

You can find a full list of all publications associated with the review at the bottom of this page.

Engagement and working groups within the Retail Market Review

We sought significant input from a range of stakeholders within the review. This involved consumer research as well as hosting roundtable discussions with industry stakeholders, including suppliers and consumer groups. You can find out more about our engagement work and view associated publications at:

Retail Market Review: engagement and working groups

Publications and updates

  • Published: 20th Feb 2015
  • Closed: 20th Mar 2015
  • Consultations and responses
  • 19 Associated documents
In September 2014, we consulted on a package of proposals applying to new and existing white labels to replace the existing temporary arrangements. We are now consulting on changes to the supply licences to give effect to our proposals.

  • Published: 18th Dec 2014
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter clarifies our previous decision to allow Standard Licence Condition 25A to expire in 2012.

  • Published: 11th Sep 2014
  • Closed: 6th Nov 2014
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations, Consultations and responses, Decisions
  • 7 Associated documents
This consultation seeks views on our proposals to develop the regulatory framework for white labels.

  • Published: 6th Jun 2014
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
This letters seeks commitment from licenced suppliers and other relevant organisations to use the new expanded micro-business definition when handling micro-business consumer complaints and referrals to the Citizens Advice Service and the Ombudsman...

  • Published: 27th Mar 2014
  • Reports and plans
  • 2 Associated documents
This document is our joint assessment of the state of competition in the energy market in Great Britain, and how well competition is serving the interests of households and small businesses.

  • Published: 27th Mar 2014
  • Closed: 23rd May 2014
  • Consultations and responses
  • 33 Associated documents
This consultation seeks views on our proposed decision to make a market investigation reference to the Competition and Markets Authority

  • Published: 31st Jan 2014
  • Reports and plans
  • 9 Associated documents
This letter describes how we intend to monitor and evaluate the impact of the Retail Market Review on the domestic energy sector. We outline our evaluation approach, and provide information on our next steps.

  • Published: 19th Dec 2013
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter seeks to clarify aspects of the RMR tariff rules due to come into effect at the end of this month, considers the implications for third party intermediaries (TPIs) and invites views on potential changes to those rules.

  • Published: 23rd Oct 2013
  • Open letters and correspondence, Other
  • 3 Associated documents
On 27 August 2013, we published the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority’s decision to proceed with licence modifications to give effect to the Retail Market Review proposals on simpler tariff choices and clearer information. We have since identified a...

  • Published: 22nd Oct 2013
  • Guidance
  • 1 Associated documents
On 27 August 2013 the Authority published its decision (and associated modification directions) to proceed with licence modifications to give effect to the Retail Market Review proposals on simpler tariff choices and clearer information. As part of this...

Pages