Metering Arrangements Review

In December 2011 we completed our consultation on the Review of Metering Arrangements (ROMA). We also completed a consultation on our proposed changes to the regulatory framework for traditional gas metering to facilitate an efficient transition to smart meters.

We are now confirming plans to proceed with our preferred approaches. These include placing an obligation on National Grid to offer terms to provide metering services to other Gas Distribution Networks in certain circumstances, and the initiation of a process to review and amend as necessary the associated regulated metering tariffs.

These plans relate to the regulation of particular traditional gas meters. These are the meters that will be replaced over time by smart meters.

It therefore complements the work of the Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC) Smart Meter Implementation Programme (SMIP), and our work in developing the regulatory framework for the early, voluntary rollout of smart meters by some energy suppliers.

 

Publications and updates

  • Published: 9th Sep 2013
  • Open letters & correspondence
  • 5 Associated documents
This document requests data from the Gas Distribution Networks for Post Emergency Metering Services (PEMS) for 2011 and 2012.

  • Published: 14th Dec 2012
  • Decisions
  • 15 Associated documents
This document sets out our final decisions in respect of British Gas’s application to operate alternative metering inspection arrangements.

  • Published: 14th Dec 2012
  • Decisions
  • 1 Associated documents
Consent given by the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority to British Gas Trading Limited, pursuant to standard condition 12.8 of the Gas Supply Licence with respect to operating alternative meter inspection arrangements.

  • Published: 14th Dec 2012
  • Open letters & correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
The Authority has granted consent to British Gas operating their alternative meter inspection arrangements, for a three-year duration, subject to British Gas meeting certain conditions and making commitments to ensure the consumer experience is positive.

  • Published: 17th Oct 2012
  • Consultations & responses
  • 9 Associated documents
These are stakeholder responses to our policy document: Decision and further consultation on the regulation of traditional gas metering during the transition to smart metering.

  • Published: 27th Sep 2012
  • Consultations & responses
  • 2 Associated documents
On 19 September 2012, National Grid launched its metering price consultation documents and stakeholder plan.

  • Published: 21st Aug 2012
  • Guidance
  • 1 Associated documents
See the National Grid Metering 2012 Pricing Consultation.

  • Published: 21st Aug 2012
  • Consultations & responses
  • 1 Associated documents
National Grid Metering Pricing Consultation – Preliminary Stakeholder Engagement.

  • Published: 25th Jul 2012
  • Closed: 5th Sep 2012
  • Consultations & responses
  • 18 Associated documents
In December 2011 we completed our consultation on the Review of Metering Arrangements (ROMA) and also consulted on our proposed changes to the regulatory framework for gas traditional metering to facilitate an efficient transition to smart meters.

  • Published: 15th Dec 2011
  • Closed: 23rd Mar 2012
  • Consultations & responses
  • 1 Associated documents
This document sets out final decisions and proposals relating to the regulation of certain electricity and gas metering services. The focus is on ‘traditional’ meters, i.e. the meters that will be replaced over time by smart meters.

Pages