Members of GEMA

Mae’r dudalen yma ar gael yn Gymraeg.

David Gray

David Gray


David Gray is Chairman of the UK Gas & Electricity Markets Authority (GEMA). He was appointed to this role in October 2013 and was previously an executive director of Ofgem from 2003 - 2007 in charge of the Networks Division. He is also a non-executive director of the UK Civil Aviation Authority.

In 2008 he advised the UK government on a review of economic regulation of airports and in 2011 he led a review of Ofwat, the water sector regulator. Before 2003 he worked for HSBC where he was head of the Energy and Utilities investment banking team and advised the UK government on the privatisations of the gas and electricity sectors.

Members of the press can download a high resolution photo of David.

Dermot Nolan

Chief Executive

Dermot joined Ofgem as Chief Executive Officer in March 2014. He brings with him extensive leadership experience in energy regulation, market competition and the protection of consumers' interests having most recently been Commissioner at the Commission for Energy Regulation in Ireland from May 2008 and its Chair since May 2011. Prior to this, he was Senior Economic Adviser at the Commission for Communications Regulation and was manager of the mergers division for the Irish Competition Authority. A graduate of Trinity College Dublin, he undertook further study at Yale where he gained a PhD in Economics. He has lectured at the University of London, specialising in the areas of market structures and firm performance.

Download a high resolution headshot of Dermot Nolan.

Andrew Wright

Board member

Andrew joined us in January 2008 with more than 25 years of experience in the gas and electricity sector, most recently at UBS where he was a senior equity research analyst covering UK utilities. For more than five years he led the Markets division, before becoming interim chief executive in June 2013 and group finance director in April 2014.

Prior to this, Andrew was head of European utilities research at Cazenove & Co and the UK Electricity and Gas Analyst at Merrill Lynch (formerly Smith Newcourt). Before his time in the City, Andrew worked in the electricity industry during its privatisation, spending six years with Manweb, the regional electricity company, in a variety of management and strategic roles.

Earlier in his career, Andrew worked as a consultant at Caminus Energy and as a research associate in the Energy Research Group at Cambridge University.

Kevin Lough

Keith Lough

Non-executive member GEMA

Keith is a non-executive member of the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority and chair of the Audit and Risk Assurance Committee.

Keith has extensive experience in the natural resources and energy sectors in both finance and leadership roles, including a period as finance director for British Energy. He also holds Non-Executive Directorships in oil and gas and mining companies, including Cairn Energy plc and Rockhopper Exploration plc. He has a Master in Finance from London Business School and is a fellow of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants.

Paul Grout

Professor Paul Grout

Non-executive member GEMA

Paul Grout is a non-executive member of the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority. With a Chair in Political Economy at the University of Bristol, Paul is also senior advisor for Competition at the Bank of England and a member of Ofcom's Panel of Academic Advisors. 

He has published extensively on regulation and competition policy, has advised many UK and international government departments and public bodies on regulatory issues and has been an advisor to the House of Lords Economic Affairs Committee and a member of a CBI Taskforce.

Christine Farnish

Christine Farnish

Non-executive member GEMA

Christine is a non-executive member of the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority.

Christine has a range of regulatory, consumer and financial services experience. She currently serves as a non-executive director on the Ofwat and ABTA Boards and chairs the P2PFA, the body representing peer to peer lending platforms. She previously served as chairman of Consumer Focus, consumer director at Oftel and the Financial Services Authority, CEO of the National Association of Pension Funds and a Managing Director at Barclays. She has been a non-executive director on the OFT, Advertising Standards Authority and ING Direct Boards and she was a Civil Service Commissioner.

Christine graduated from Manchester University and has an M.Sc in Conservation from UCL.

Wendy Watson

Wendy Watson

Secretary to the Authority

Wendy Watson became Board Secretary in January 2017 in addition to her previous Ofgem role as Head of the Enforcement Decision Panel Secretariat which she has held since September 2014.

Wendy has worked in central government for most of her career, at the Department for Culture, Media and Sport and the Department for Education and Skills, as well as a two year secondment as Deputy Head of Strategic Development at the British Film Institute.

She was Private Secretary to two DCMS ministers and led on several key policy areas including the Communications Review and Public Service Broadcasting.

David Ashbourne

David Ashbourne

Legal Adviser to the Authority

David moved to our Network's Division in 2004 as legal director, and is now head of legal profession.

David joined us in October 2003 as a senior lawyer. He began his career in housing and the environment, managing major regeneration projects in the inner city. He moved into the energy sector joining British Gas's South Eastern Region, progressing to the role of regional solicitor. He joined the British Gas pre-Network Code Gas Transportation Division and was then appointed Head of Transco's Central Legal Team in 1994.

He was involved in the development of the Network Code, the MMC Inquiry, the Centrica Demerger and the subsequent formation of Lattice on the demerger of Transco from BG. He set up the regulatory compliance function at Transco and was involved in the separation of the metering business.