Licensees are required to comply with a number of technical codes and standards relating to their transmission and distribution operations.

This section contains information on the standards that are in place as well as requests and decisions on applications for derogation from these standards and links to external parties, such as National Grid, who have a role in the governance of codes.

  • Technical standards – contains links to a number of third party sites and publications relating to issues affecting all technical standards.
  • Quality of Service Guaranteed Standards - contains information on standards of service levels that must be met by each distribution company across 12 key service areas, including supply restoration, connections and voltage quality
  • Security and Quality of Supply Standard (SQSS) – contains information on the National Electricity Transmission System Security and Quality of Supply Standards (NETS SQSS) for onshore and offshore transmission licensees.

Publications and updates

  • Published: 17th Mar 2021
  • Guidance
  • 3 Associated documents
Certification arrangements in Great Britain following amendments to the ownership unbundling requirements of the Gas Act 1986 and the Electricity Act 1989

  • Published: 11th Aug 2014
  • Decisions
  • 1 Associated documents
See the decision for the modifications to the electricity generation licence standard conditions to reflect offshore developments.