2021 price control review (RIIO-ESO2)

Ofgem regulates the prices network companies charge to run the gas and electricity networks in Great Britain. This includes the costs of the Electricity System Operator (ESO), who is responsible for operating Great Britain’s national electricity transmission system safely and securely.

You can view all policy publications, decisions, information and consultations relating to the ESO’s RIIO-2 price control starting in 2021, alongside our other ESO-related publications, on our Electricity SO Reform page.

For investor updates, see our Investor Relations section.

RIIO-ESO price review timeline

Publications and updates

  • Published: 19th Mar 2021
  • Guidance
  • 5 Associated documents
Publication of the RIIO-2 NIA Governance Document

  • Published: 17th Mar 2021
  • Decisions
  • 3 Associated documents
We have decided to modify the Electricity System Operator Reporting and Incentives (ESORI) Arrangements Guidance Document and the ESO Roles Guidance Document for 2021-23.

  • Published: 16th Feb 2021
  • Closed: 16th Mar 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 3 Associated documents
We are consulting on drafts of our proposed Net Zero and Re-opener UIOLI Allowance governance documents for RIIO-2.

  • Published: 16th Feb 2021
  • Closed: 16th Mar 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 1 Associated documents
We are consulting on drafts of our proposed Net Zero Pre-construction and Small Net Zero Projects Re-opener governance documents for RIIO-2.

  • Published: 3rd Feb 2021
  • Decisions
  • 7 Associated documents
Today we publish our statutory modifications to the licences of the Transmission, Gas Distribution and Electricity System Operator to implement the RIIO-2 price control.

  • Published: 17th Dec 2020
  • Closed: 26th Jan 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 3 Associated documents
We are consulting on our proposed ESO Roles Guidance document for RIIO-2.

  • Published: 17th Dec 2020
  • Closed: 19th Jan 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 8 Associated documents
Today we publish our statutory consultation on the proposed licence changes for Gas Distribution, Transmission and the Electricity System Operator.

  • Published: 17th Dec 2020
  • Closed: 26th Jan 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 5 Associated documents
We are consulting on our proposed Electricity System Operator Reporting and Incentives (ESORI) Guidance Document for RIIO-2.

  • Published: 10th Dec 2020
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 1 Associated documents
View the recording and transcript from the stakeholder call on 8th December 2020 following the publication of the RIIO-2 Final Determinations.

  • Published: 10th Nov 2020
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 1 Associated documents
A series of nine Open Meetings to discuss company responses to Ofgem's Draft Determinations consultation.

Pages