2021 price control review (RIIO-ESO2)

Ofgem regulates the prices network companies charge to run the gas and electricity networks in Great Britain. This includes the costs of the Electricity System Operator (ESO), who is responsible for operating Great Britain’s national electricity transmission system safely and securely.

You can view all policy publications, decisions, information and consultations relating to the ESO’s RIIO-2 price control starting in 2021, alongside our other ESO-related publications, on our Electricity SO Reform page.

For investor updates, see our Investor Relations section.

RIIO-ESO price review timeline

Publications and updates

  • Published: 17th Dec 2020
  • Closing: 26th Jan 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 1 Associated documents
We are consulting on our proposed ESO Roles Guidance document for RIIO-2.

  • Published: 17th Dec 2020
  • Closing: 19th Jan 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 7 Associated documents
Today we publish our statutory consultation on the proposed licence changes for Gas Distribution, Transmission and the Electricity System Operator.

  • Published: 17th Dec 2020
  • Closing: 26th Jan 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 2 Associated documents
We are consulting on our proposed Electricity System Operator Reporting and Incentives (ESORI) Guidance Document for RIIO-2.

  • Published: 10th Dec 2020
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 1 Associated documents
View the recording and transcript from the stakeholder call on 8th December 2020 following the publication of the RIIO-2 Final Determinations.

  • Published: 10th Nov 2020
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 1 Associated documents
A series of nine Open Meetings to discuss company responses to Ofgem's Draft Determinations consultation.

  • Published: 12th Oct 2020
  • Closed: 9th Nov 2020
  • Consultations and responses
  • 3 Associated documents
We are consulting on the proposed re-opener guidance and application requirements document that will assist network companies in completing RIIO-2 re-opener applications for submission to Ofgem.

  • Published: 30th Sep 2020
  • Closed: 28th Oct 2020
  • Consultations and responses
  • 5 Associated documents
This document consults on the proposed changes to the licence conditions required to implement the RIIO-2 price control settlement for the transmission companies, gas distribution networks and the electricity system operator.

  • Published: 9th Jul 2020
  • Guidance
  • 1 Associated documents
An overview of our price control proposals for the transmission, gas distribution and system network operators, 2021-26