2021 price control review (RIIO-GD2)

Ofgem regulates the prices of companies that run the gas and electricity networks in Great Britain. 

Here you can view all policy publications, information and consultations relating to the gas distribution network price controls starting 2021 and running until 2026 (RIIO-GD2).

Select an area to view: 

For investor updates, see our Investor Relations section

RIIO-GD2 price review timeline

  • Summer 2018: RIIO-2 framework consultation and decision. This stage encompassed a review of the overall RIIO framework so far and assessed if we needed to make any changes. 
  • Winter 2018/19: RIIO-2 sector specific methodology consultation. This stage encompassed setting the sector-specific price control methodologies for the gas distribution, electricity and gas transmission operators, and the electricity system operator.
  • Summer to autumn 2019: We asked network companies to submit their business plans and issued a call for evidence on stakeholder views on the plans.
  • Spring 2020: Ofgem RIIO-2 challenge group and network company customer engagement and user groups submitted independent reports on the proposed network company business plans. The aim of these independent groups is to ensure consumers have a stronger voice in challenging each network company on how their needs and views are accounted for in the plans. 
  • Summer 2020: We publish our draft determinations on the price control allowances and consult on our proposals.
  • Winter 2020: We publish our final determinations on the price control allowances. Subject to consultation, we expect to do this by December 2020. 
  • 1 April 2021: Price control effective.

Publications and updates

  • Published: 17th Dec 2020
  • Closing: 29th Jan 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 3 Associated documents
We are consulting on our proposed draft of the Vulnerability and Carbon Monoxide Allowance Governance Document for RIIO-2

  • Published: 17th Dec 2020
  • Closing: 29th Jan 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 4 Associated documents
We are consulting on our proposed draft of the Fuel Poor Network Extension Scheme Governance Document for RIIO-2

  • Published: 17th Dec 2020
  • Closing: 29th Jan 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 2 Associated documents
We are consulting on drafts of our proposed Exit Capacity Enhanced Obligations Guidance Document for RIIO-2

  • Published: 17th Dec 2020
  • Closed: 19th Jan 2021
  • Consultations and responses
  • 7 Associated documents
Today we publish our statutory consultation on the proposed licence changes for Gas Distribution, Transmission and the Electricity System Operator.

  • Published: 8th Dec 2020
  • Decisions
  • 18 Associated documents
Today we publish our Final Determinations for the Transmission and Gas Distribution network companies, and the Electricity System Operator.

  • Published: 7th Dec 2020
  • Decisions
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter sets out a summary of the responses to our Statutory Consultation and our rationale for our decision not to proceed with our proposal.

  • Published: 12th Oct 2020
  • Closed: 9th Nov 2020
  • Consultations and responses
  • 3 Associated documents
We are consulting on the proposed re-opener guidance and application requirements document that will assist network companies in completing RIIO-2 re-opener applications for submission to Ofgem.

  • Published: 2nd Oct 2020
  • Closed: 2nd Nov 2020
  • Consultations and responses
  • 11 Associated documents
We are consulting on initial drafts of our proposed VCMA and FPNES governance documents to aid our policy development.

  • Published: 30th Sep 2020
  • Closed: 28th Oct 2020
  • Consultations and responses
  • 5 Associated documents
This document consults on the proposed changes to the licence conditions required to implement the RIIO-2 price control settlement for the transmission companies, gas distribution networks and the electricity system operator.

  • Published: 23rd Sep 2020
  • Closed: 20th Oct 2020
  • Consultations and responses
  • 3 Associated documents
Statutory consultation on a proposal to modify licences held by Transmission Owners, Electricity System Operator, and Gas Distribution Networks in extraordinary circumstances due to COVID-19. This statutory consultation follows on from our open letter of...

Pages