Our structure and leadership

Our structure

Gas and Electricity Markets Authority

Our governing body is the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority and is referred to as GEMA, the Authority, or the Ofgem Board. It comprises non-executive and executive members, and a non-executive chair. Members are appointed by the Secretary of State at the Department for Energy Security and Net Zero.

View details of GEMA members

View GEMA Members Register of Interests

Senior Executive Committee

Our Senior Executive Committee (SEC) is chaired by our Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and is a management forum for constructive and collective ownership of Ofgem’s overall performance and delivery.

Senior leaders from across our organisation make up the committee membership.

View details of SEC members

View Senior Executive Committee Register of Interests

GEMA powers and duties

Full information on GEMA’s powers and duties, its rules and procedures and its committees can be found in the following pages:

GEMA powers and duties

GEMA rules of procedure and committees

GEMA meetings

The Authority meets at least 10 times a year. Dates of meetings, agendas and minutes are listed below.