Market review and reform

Our principal objective is to protect the interests of both existing and future energy consumers. Accordingly, a core part of our work is to continually review the gas and electricity markets and, where appropriate, consult on and recommend reforms.

In the gas retail market this has included:

  • Smarter Markets Programme – using the opportunity that smart metering presents to make gas retail markets work better for consumers
  • leading the Switching Programme - to radically transform the current switching arrangements and deliver reliable, next-day switching for consumers
  • conducting the Metering Arrangements Review – our review of various aspects of the regulatory framework for traditional meters
  • conducting the Retail Market Review – a package of proposals to make the retail energy market simpler, clearer and fairer for consumers
  • reviewing direct marketing practices – regulating the manner in which suppliers perform direct marketing
  • regulating the notification of price changes – domestic energy suppliers must notify their customers of prices increases, or any other changes that may significantly disadvantage them
  • regulating the approach to the prevention and detection of gas theft - energy companies must play an active role in detecting, investigating and preventing the theft of gas.

Publications and updates

  • Published: 3rd Jul 2017
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
Our letter replying to Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy about our plans for the retail energy market.

  • Published: 3rd Aug 2016
  • Reports and plans
  • 1 Associated documents
Ofgem's annual update on the GB retail energy market: The main trends for 2015/16 and contribution to the outcomes we want for consumers.

  • Published: 13th Jun 2016
  • Closed: 29th Jul 2016
  • Consultations and responses
  • 19 Associated documents
We are consulting on our proposed approach to dealing with supplier insolvency and its consequences for customers.

  • Published: 19th Apr 2016
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
Following recent media interest regarding the sale of E.ON Age UK tariffs, we have looked into E.ON’s marketing of these tariffs and have announced today our conclusion that there is no case to open an investigation.

  • Published: 14th Apr 2016
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
In its Provisional Decision on Remedies Report, the Competition & Markets Authority (CMA) proposed a recommendation that Ofgem remove certain elements of the ‘simpler choices’ component of our Retail Market Review (RMR) rules. In the light of this,...

  • Published: 27th Oct 2015
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter clarifies when we expect suppliers to include collective switch tariffs in the Cheapest Tariff Message.

  • Published: 9th Sep 2015
  • Reports and plans
  • 1 Associated documents
Ofgem's annual update on the GB retail energy market. It shows the main trends in the retail market in the last year, including how the markets are contributing to the outcomes we want for consumers.

  • Published: 8th Dec 2014
  • Open letters and correspondence, Reports and plans
  • 5 Associated documents
The Retail Market Review reforms are now in place. It is vital that we track the impact of these measures. This letter sets out our approach for doing so. We also published the baseline results reports and our approach to econometric modelling.

  • Published: 28th Nov 2014
  • Decisions
  • 3 Associated documents
Our decision to modify the gas and electricity supply licences by amending standard licence condition (SLC) 1 and SLC 7A. This will improve the information suppliers provide to micro-businesses when they renew an energy contract and standardise the...

  • Published: 5th Aug 2014
  • Guidance
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter sets out guidance for all domestic gas suppliers on how to calculate the calorific value used for domestic consumer billing.

Pages