The GB gas distribution network

There are eight gas distribution networks (GDNs), each of which covers a separate geographical region of Great Britain.

These eight networks are owned and managed by the following companies:

  • Cadent Gas Ltd – West Midlands, North West, East of England and North London
  • Northern Gas Networks Limited – North East England (including Yorkshire and Northern Cumbria) 
  • Wales & West Utilities Limited – Wales and South West England.
  • SGN – Scotland and Southern England (including South London).

In addition there are a number of smaller networks owned and operated by Independent Gas Transporters (IGTs). These are located within the areas covered by the GDNs.

Since GDNs are natural monopolies they are regulated by us to protect consumers from potential abuse of monopoly power.

In order to be able to distribute gas through the systems, GDNs and IGTs must hold a licence. The licences contain conditions which, among other things, limit the amount of revenue which these companies can recover from their customers.

Further information on how the networks operate and where they are located can be found on the website of the Energy Networks Association.

Publications and updates

  • Published: 12th Jun 2014
  • Closed: 10th Jul 2014
  • Consultations and responses
  • 3 Associated documents
The modification to NGG’s Gas Transporter licence is to allow NGG to recover operational expenditure incurred by Scotia Gas Networks for the winter of 2012/13.

  • Published: 29th Oct 2013
  • Closed: 29th Nov 2013
  • Consultations and responses
  • 14 Associated documents
Consultation on draft terms of reference for independent experts to conduct an initial review of the reasonableness of network operators’ (NWOs) pension costs.