Metering Arrangements Review

In December 2011 we completed our consultation on the Review of Metering Arrangements (ROMA).

We also completed a consultation on our proposed changes to the regulatory framework for traditional gas metering to facilitate an efficient transition to smart meters.

We are now confirming plans to proceed with our preferred approaches. These include placing an obligation on National Grid to offer terms to provide metering services to other Gas Distribution Networks in certain circumstances and the initiation of a process to review and amend as necessary, the associated regulated metering tariffs.

These plans relate to the regulation of particular traditional gas meters. These are the meters that will be replaced over time by smart meters.

It therefore complements the work of the Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC) Smart Meter Implementation Programme (SMIP), and our work in developing the regulatory framework for the early, voluntary rollout of smart meters by some energy suppliers.

Publications and updates

  • Published: 9th Sep 2013
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 5 Associated documents
This document requests data from the Gas Distribution Networks for Post Emergency Metering Services (PEMS) for 2011 and 2012.

  • Published: 14th Dec 2012
  • Decisions
  • 15 Associated documents
This document sets out our final decisions in respect of British Gas’s application to operate alternative metering inspection arrangements.

  • Published: 14th Dec 2012
  • Decisions
  • 1 Associated documents
Consent given by the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority to British Gas Trading Limited, pursuant to standard condition 12.14 of the Electricity Supply Licence with respect to operating alternative meter inspection arrangements.

  • Published: 14th Dec 2012
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
The Authority has granted consent to British Gas operating their alternative meter inspection arrangements, for a three-year duration, subject to British Gas meeting certain conditions and making commitments to ensure the consumer experience is positive.

  • Published: 27th Sep 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 2 Associated documents
On 19 September 2012, National Grid launched its metering price consultation documents and stakeholder plan.

  • Published: 15th Dec 2011
  • Closed: 23rd Mar 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 1 Associated documents
This document sets out final decisions and proposals relating to the regulation of certain electricity and gas metering services. The focus is on ‘traditional’ meters, i.e. the meters that will be replaced over time by smart meters.

  • Published: 17th Dec 2010
  • Closed: 14th Feb 2011
  • Consultations and responses
  • 17 Associated documents
Ofgem have been undertaking a Review of Metering Arrangements (ROMA). This consultation presents Ofgem's minded to position on metering issues faced by both industry and consumers in the coming years.

  • Published: 6th Jul 2010
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 26 Associated documents
This letter sets out the scope of Ofgem’s review of metering arrangements (ROMA).

  • Published: 1st Apr 2010
  • Closed: 23rd Apr 2010
  • Consultations and responses
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter launches Ofgem’s review of current metering arrangements. We are seeking your views by 23rd April 2010.