BEIS / Ofgem Smart Systems Forum

Terms of Reference

Purpose and Role

The Smart Systems Forum ('SSF' or 'the Forum') constitutes a high level group bringing together senior level experts and stakeholders in smart technologies, new business models and the energy system to help implement and steer BEIS and Ofgem's Smart Systems & Flexibility Plan, as well as covering wider network issues related to the evolution of the electricity system.

Specifically, the SSF will:

- Provide input, assistance and advice to BEIS and Ofgem on the implementation of the Smart Systems & Flexibility Plan and related matters, such as smart grids in the development of the electricity system;
- Develop an understanding of what actions might be appropriate alongside or beyond the Smart Systems Plan;
- Consider wider issues where they interact for example those related to the evolution of the electricity system including major network developments, Transmission & Distribution interface, and gas, heat and whole system challenges;
- Undertake specific workstream activity where appropriate.

The Forum will take account of, and draw upon, the previous work of Electricity Networks Strategy Group and Smart Grid Forum.

The Forum will take account of the work of other relevant bodies, and consider any necessary actions or implications for its work.

Participation

The SSF will comprise around 30 core participants, consisting of senior level experts, across a range of relevant sectors including, but not limited to System Operation, network owners, energy suppliers, renewable developers, storage providers, demand side response developers, consumer groups, product specialist/manufacturers/tech sector, academics and policy/research organisations. The Devolved Administrations will also participate in the SSF.

Alternates will not be able to attend meetings of the Forum. An exception is that a member of the Forum can put forward an alternate if that person is more senior in the organisation.

Individual participants are present in a personal capacity and as representatives of their organisations. Therefore, if an individual moves role, BEIS and Ofgem will decide whether and how to replace them.

A list of participants in the Forum is at Annex A.

BEIS/Ofgem will invite additional participants to the SSF if this is considered useful for particular agenda items.

Membership of the group will be regularly reviewed by BEIS and Ofgem.

<u>Meetings</u>

The SSF will normally hold three meetings a year, which will be in central London. BEIS will provide the secretariat for the group. Additional meetings may be held if deemed necessary.

Publications

The SSF will publish the notes of its meetings and any reports/studies that it carries out or commissions from other parties. Any notes of meetings will be agreed with the members before publication.

Discussion during the meeting will take place, however, under the Chatham House Rule¹.

Material from any reports or studies will be made available to BEIS and Ofgem.

Review

The SSF will operate until May 2020, when its terms of reference and the need for its continued operation will be reviewed.

Annex A

Participants of the Smart Systems Forum and the organisations they represent

Name		Organisation
Alli	Suleman	UK Power Networks
Matthew	Evans	techUK
Duncan	Botting	Institution of Engineering and Technology
Eric	Brown	Energy Systems Catapult
Andy	Burgess	Ofgem (joint chair)
David	Capper	BEIS (joint chair)
Mark	Cox	EDF Energy
Patrick	Erwin	Northern Powergrid
Toby	Ferenczi	Ovo Energy
Paul	Fidler	Energy Networks Association
Audrey	Gallacher	Energy UK
Chris	Harris	Npower
David	Hill	Open Energi
David	Holmes	Quarry Battery
Stew	Horne	Citizens Advice Bureau
Merlin	Hyman	Regen
Peter	Bance	Origami Energy
Ron	Loveland	Welsh Government
lan	Luney ²	AES

¹ When a meeting, or part thereof, is held under the Chatham House Rule, participants are free to use the information received, but neither the identity nor the affiliation of the speaker(s), nor that of any other participant, may be revealed.

Cathy	McClay	National Grid
Jim	McOmish	SP Energy Networks
Fiona	Navesey	Centrica
Georgina	Penfold	Electricity Storage Network
Emma	Pinchbeck	Renewable UK
Neal	Rafferty	Scottish Government
Stewart	Reid	SSE Networks
David	Roberts	EA Technology
Simon	Roberts	Centre for Sustainable Energy
Tim	Rotheray	Association for Decentralised Energy
Nina	Skorupska	Renewable Energy Association
Patrick	Smart	Renewable Energy Systems
Goran	Strbac	Imperial College
Phil	Swift	Western Power Distribution
Vincent	Thornley	Fundamentals/BEAMA
Judith	Ward	Sustainability First
Chris	Hewett	Solar Trade Association