



Ofgem establishes independent Expert Panels for Network Innovation Competitions

We are pleased to announce the appointment of the Expert Panel members for the innovation competitions we are running for energy network companies. This year we are running three competitions. Electricity and the Gas Network Innovation Competitions (NICs) will run alongside our highly regarded Low Carbon Networks (LCN) Fund. The Expert Panels will review submissions made to the innovation competitions and make a recommendation on the projects which should receive funding. This year up to £109m 1 of funding is available through these competitions.

Through the innovation competitions, network companies can compete for funding for research, development and demonstration of new technologies, operating and commercial arrangements. Funding will be provided for the best innovation projects which can deliver potential low carbon, environmental and financial benefits to consumers. Each competition has its own independent Expert Panel which scrutinises the submissions and makes recommendations to us about which Projects should be selected for funding.

Miriam Greenwood will chair the Gas NIC Expert Panel. Miriam has extensive board level experience and was until recently a non-executive member of the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority. Dr Robin Bidwell will chair the Electricity NIC Expert Panel and also continue his existing role as Chair of the LCN Fund Expert Panel.

The Expert Panel members bring knowledge and expertise covering energy network industries, consumer interests, environmental policy, technical and engineering issues, and economics and finance. The panels are as follows:

Electricity NIC Expert Panel	Gas NIC Expert Panel	LCN Fund Expert Panel
Dr Robin Bidwell (Chair)	Miriam Greenwood (Chair)	Dr Robin Bidwell (Chair)
Sharon Darcy	Sharon Darcy	Sharon Darcy
Prof. David Newbery	Prof. David Newbery	Prof. David Newbery
Alan Bryce	Sean Sutcliffe	Sean Sutcliffe
Prof. Nick Jenkins	Ron Chapman	Prof. Nick Jenkins

In order to ensure continuity, a number of the panel members bring experience from the LCN Fund Expert Panel. In addition, we have recruited additional Gas and Electricity Transmission expertise. Alan Bryce has joined the Electricity NIC Expert Panel and Ron Chapman has joined the Gas panel. Both have broad experience in the energy sector.

The LCN Fund Expert Panel will remain unchanged from last year. We now expect to maintain the three panels in this form for at least the next two years after which the LCN Fund will be subsumed in the Electricity NIC.

The full list of Gas NIC and Electricity NIC Expert Panel members, including a short biography, can be found below. If you have any questions about this announcement please contact networks.innovation@ofgem.gov.uk.

¹ £27m for the Electricity NIC, £18m for the Gas NIC and £64m for the LCN Fund.

NIC and LCN Fund Expert Panel biographies

Dr. Robin Bidwell CBE (Chair, LCN Fund and Electricity NIC)

Robin is a Founder of the global consultancy ERM and Chairman of the ERM Foundation Low Carbon Fund. He is also Chairman of the Green Alliance and a non-executive director for ICE (an environmental rewards company). From 2002 to 2009 he was a member of the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority.

Miriam Greenwood OBE DL (Chair, Gas NIC)

Miriam is a non-executive director of Henderson Global Trust plc, Eclipse Shipping Limited and Mithras Investment Trust plc and is a founding partner of SPARK Advisory Partners, a corporate finance boutique. From 2004 to 2013 she was a member of the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority. She is currently a Special Advisor to RIIO-ED1 Committee of the Authority.

Prof. David Newbery (Member, LCN Fund, Electricity NIC and Gas NIC)

David is a Research Fellow in the Control and Power Research Group at Imperial College London, a Director of the Cambridge Electricity Policy Research Group and Emeritus Professor of Applied Economics at the University of Cambridge. He has managed research projects on utility privatisation and regulation, electricity restructuring and market design, transmission access pricing and his active research includes climate change policies.

Sharon Darcy (Member, LCN Fund, Electricity NIC and Gas NIC)

Sharon is a non-executive director of three organisations: Consumer Futures; and Nest Corporation. She is a member of Ofgem's Consumer Challenge Group which is advising the regulator on the RIIO price controls. Sharon is also a member of the Parliamentary Committee on Standards and an Associate with Sustainability First.

Sean Sutcliffe (Member, LCN Fund and Gas NIC)

Sean is Chief Executive of Green Biologics, a non-executive Director of Indian ISP You Broadband and a trustee of international development charity Practical Action. He has 14 years experience at BG Group plc in a variety of roles spanning operations, business development and strategy.

Prof. Nick Jenkins (Member, LCN Fund and Electricity NIC)

Nick is the Director of the Institute of Energy within the School of Engineering at Cardiff University. Before moving to academia, his career included 14 years industrial experience of which 5 years were spent in developing countries. He is a fellow of the IET, IEEE and Royal Academy of Engineering and from 2009-2011 was the Shimizu Visiting Professor to the Atmosphere and Energy Program at Stanford University.

Ron Chapman (Member, Gas NIC)

Ron has been CEO and latterly Chairman of WRc plc since 2004. He was previously CEO of Advantica (Formerly British Gas Technology) specialists providing innovative technical solutions to energy and other utilities. Ron has considerable experience of utilities including time spent at Southern Water.

Alan Bryce (Member, Electricity NIC)

Alan is currently a non-executive board member of Scottish Water and chair of Viking Energy Shetland. He is also an advisor in the utilities industry. He was formerly Managing Director of Energy Networks and Generation at Scottish Power. He is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology and has served as a non-executive director of Iberdrola USA in New York.