

PANEL MEMBERS

Sarah Harrison, Senior Partner – Sustainable Development, Ofgem and Panel Chair

Sarah took on leadership of Ofgem's new Sustainable Development Division in September 2009. The Division was created as part of Ofgem's restructuring the aim of which is to increase Ofgem's role in helping to meet Britain's targets to cut carbon emissions. The Division brings together Environmental, Social and Consumer policy. It will lead on smart metering policy as well as enforcement and better regulation.

From 2005 Sarah was Ofgem's Managing Director of Corporate Affairs and before that she was Ofgem's Communications Director. From 1994 – 1999, Sarah was the first Director of ICSTIS, the UK industry regulator for premium rate telephone services. Sarah's earlier career was in government and public relations consultancy.

Audrey Gallacher, Head of Consumer Focus.

Consumer Focus is a statutory organisation that champions the interests of consumers across England, Wales, Scotland and for post, Northern Ireland. Audrey's role covers the energy industry including both wholesale and retail market structure, working with companies to drive improvements in the service provided; this includes the treatment of consumers, especially vulnerable consumers. Audrey was previously Head of Company Peformance, Research & Advice for the consumer body energywatch.

Gretel Jones, Consumer Markets Policy Advisor, Age UK

Gretel joined Age Concern England in 1997 and is responsible for determining policy on a wide range of consumer issues. Current key issues she is working on are the alleviation of fuel poverty, digital inclusion, scams and rogue traders and the introduction of digital television and radio. She represents Age UK on a number of external bodies including the Digital Television Consumer Expert Group, the Advisory body to the Office of Fair Trading and Trustmark trades Approval Scheme and Ofgem's Consumer Advisory Group on smart meters. Prior to that Gretel worked for Consumers' Association and then for Consumers International with responsibility for co-ordinating their input into product and service standardisation and related product safety issues. She also spent several years working as a consumer adviser and in consumer education before moving to work in a London local authority economic development department.

Derek Lickorish, Chair of the Fuel Poverty Advisory Group

Derek has 40 years experience in the energy industry. Derek now focuses on Fuel Poverty and Smart metering. He is currently Chair of the Government's Fuel Poverty Advisory Group and a Non Executive Director of Secure Meters Ltd. He also has his own consultancy business. Derek was employed by EDF Energy as their Chief Operating Officer, Customers Branch, for nearly 5 years and was previously the Customer Service and External Affairs Director at SWEB from 1996. Derek has held several executive positions as well as Senior Management and individual contributor roles. He has also served on the Boards of Private companies and Public and Private sector partnerships in a range of roles including deputy Chairman and Chairman.

Andy Wagg, Chief Executive Officer, Institution of Gas Engineers and Managers (IGEM)

Andy joined IGEM in September 2009. Andy's career spans over thirty years in the gas industry. An accountant by profession, Andy has extensive experience of the distribution network as well as being heavily involved in regulatory economics and the financial derivation of price controls. More recently he held the position of Director of Finance and IT with Fulcrum Connections.

Malcolm Fergusson, Head of Climate Change at the Environment Agency.

Malcolm leads the head office team dealing with both mitigation and adaptation policy. Malcolm was formerly a Senior Fellow at the Institute for European Environmental Policy, an independent Policy Institute. He has a background in computer modelling and forecasting, but now specialises in climate change, energy and transport policy issues in the UK and Europe.