## **Minutes**



## Minutes of the meeting of the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority

**From**: Eilidh Alexander (Secretary to the Authority)

**Date**: 09 October

**Location**: London

#### **GEMA** minutes for 09 October

#### 1. Welcome

No conflicts of interest were declared, and the Board approved the minutes for the previous Board meeting.

# 2. System Planning & Recommendations by the Electricity Networks Commissioner

**Note:** The Board heard the presentation from Nick Winser (UK's Electricity Networks Commissioner) on his recent independent report commissioned by HMG; 'Accelerating electricity transmission network deployment: Electricity Networks Commissioner's recommendations'.

### 3. CEO's Report

**Note:** The Board noted the CEO report, with particular interest in the updates on the Prime Minister's net zero calibration speech, the Winter package and decision on Consumer Standards, and the CMA appeals determination for the RIIO-ED2 appeals.

#### 4. Market stabilisation charge and the ban on acquisition-only tariffs

**Decision:** The Board approved the paper on the Market stabilisation charge (MSC) and ban on acquisition-only tariffs (BAT), which proposed to allow the MSC to lapse at the end of its current extension and to conduct further analysis on the BAT policy.

#### 5. Approach to Price Cap changes

**Note:** The Board noted the paper which set out the historical approaches to the Price Cap changes.

#### 6. 1 Reflections and AOB

**Note:** The Board noted their thanks to the secretariat for their work in facilitating Board meetings during the previous 5 year term.

#### 6.2 Reflections and AOB

**Note**: The Board marked Martin Cave (Chair) for his five-year term as Chair of Ofgem and noted their thanks for his guidance, oversight and support during this time. The Board wished Martin Cave the best in his future endeavours.

## **Apologies for absence**

None

## **Those present**

Martin Cave

Jonathan Brearley

Lynne Embleton

John Crackett

Myriam Madden

Barry Panayi

## Those attending

Neil Lawrence

Sinead Murray

Neil Kenward

Akshay Kaul

Tim Jarvis

Melinda Johnson

Mrinal Patel (Next Generation NED)

#### Others present

Eilidh Alexander (Head of Governance and Secretariat)

Ashley Stewart (Governance and Secretariat Manager)