RPI-X@20 review

RPI-X@20 was a detailed review of energy network regulation. The review looked at how best to regulate energy network companies to enable them to meet the challenges and opportunities of delivering the networks required for a sustainable, low carbon energy sector.

The RPI-X@20 review resulted in our new RIIO regulatory framework, outlined in the RPI-X@20 decision document.

We also set out more details of how the RIIO model would work in practice in the Handbook for implementing the RIIO model.

Over the course of the RPI-X@20 review we published multiple consultation documents, a series of working papers, consultancy reports and presentations and notes from our engagement with stakeholders. These documents are set out below.

Publications and updates

  • Published: 31st Jul 2009
  • Other
  • 3 Associated documents
This is the third in the series of RPI-X@20 working papers.

  • Published: 27th Jul 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This is the second in the series of RPI-X@20 working papers.

  • Published: 9th Jul 2009
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 9 Associated documents
The RPI-X@20 team held another workshop for high-level ‘thinkers’ in regulatory economics.

  • Published: 10th Jun 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This working paper presents our initial thinking on what we are likely to want energy networks to deliver in the future and on the characteristics of an effective future regulatory framework.

  • Published: 2nd Jun 2009
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 1 Associated documents
Response by Steve Smith (Ofgem) to Professor Helm’s lecture on utility regulation, the RAB and the cost of capital.

  • Published: 6th May 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
Professor Helm’s lecture was given to the Competition Commission as part of its Spring Lecture series.

  • Published: 5th May 2009
  • Consultations and responses
  • 24 Associated documents
This document lists the names of respondents to our February consultation document.

  • Published: 30th Apr 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This paper examines lessons from telecoms deregulation for electricity network regulation.

  • Published: 8th Apr 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
Hannah Nixon, explains why Ofgem has embarked on the RPI-X@20 review.

  • Published: 7th Apr 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
Building on an earlier paper for Ofgem, CEPA explore in more detail whether there are any lessons for the regulation of energy networks from the regulatory frameworks in place for water and rail.

Pages