RPI-X@20 review

RPI-X@20 was a detailed review of energy network regulation. The review looked at how best to regulate energy network companies to enable them to meet the challenges and opportunities of delivering the networks required for a sustainable, low carbon energy sector.

The RPI-X@20 review resulted in our new RIIO regulatory framework, outlined in the RPI-X@20 decision document.

We also set out more details of how the RIIO model would work in practice in the Handbook for implementing the RIIO model.

Over the course of the RPI-X@20 review we published multiple consultation documents, a series of working papers, consultancy reports and presentations and notes from our engagement with stakeholders. These documents are set out below.

Publications and updates

  • Published: 9th Oct 2009
  • Reports and plans
  • 1 Associated documents
This is the report that we commissioned KEMA to take forward looking at the potential for technological innovation on the GB energy networks.

  • Published: 7th Oct 2009
  • Decisions
  • 1 Associated documents
This report by LECG investigates the advantages and disadvantages of introducing a right to appeal, the substance of the regulatory settlement, for consumers and network users.

  • Published: 7th Oct 2009
  • Reports and plans
  • 1 Associated documents
This report by LECG investigates the pros and cons of ex post regulation and its possible applications to energy network regulation.

  • Published: 6th Oct 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This working paper explores the case for enhancing competitive pressures on regulated networks.

  • Published: 2nd Oct 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
In this working paper, we consider adaptability and the treatment of uncertainty under the existing RPI-X regimes, as well as under possible modified versions of the current regulatory arrangements.

  • Published: 1st Oct 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This paper provides an overview of our current thinking on the role that consumer engagement should take within the regulatory regime.

  • Published: 1st Oct 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This contribution to the RPI-X@20 project, attempts to consider from first principles some important issues that arise in relation to any proposals that would introduce new powers of appeal or veto for stakeholders that do not currently have the right.

  • Published: 25th Sep 2009
  • Reports and plans
  • 1 Associated documents
This is a report by Frontier Economics on the role of future energy networks.

  • Published: 3rd Sep 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
In this paper we present our current ideas on one potential model - a modified ex ante incentive framework.

  • Published: 3rd Sep 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
In this working paper we present our initial ideas on what we mean by long term efficiency reflecting uncertainty about what is needed to deliver the outcomes.

Pages