RPI-X@20 review

RPI-X@20 was a detailed review of energy network regulation. The review looked at how best to regulate energy network companies to enable them to meet the challenges and opportunities of delivering the networks required for a sustainable, low carbon energy sector.

The RPI-X@20 review resulted in our new RIIO regulatory framework, outlined in the RPI-X@20 decision document.

We also set out more details of how the RIIO model would work in practice in the Handbook for implementing the RIIO model.

Over the course of the RPI-X@20 review we published multiple consultation documents, a series of working papers, consultancy reports and presentations and notes from our engagement with stakeholders. These documents are set out below.

Publications and updates

  • Published: 28th Apr 2010
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 6 Associated documents
This page provides a summary of the discussions and the presentations that took place at the RPI-X@20 academic workshop on 23 March 2010.

  • Published: 12th Apr 2010
  • Consultations and responses
  • 40 Associated documents
This document lists the names of respondents to our January 2010 Emerging Thinking consultation document.

  • Published: 31st Mar 2010
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 7 Associated documents
This is the agenda for the RPI-X@20 workshop that we held in Glasgow on 11 March 2010 regarding our Emerging Thinking consultation document.

  • Published: 8th Feb 2010
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 7 Associated documents
See the agenda for the RPI-X@20 workshop to be held in London on 5 March 2010.

  • Published: 20th Jan 2010
  • Closed: 9th Apr 2010
  • Consultations and responses
  • 11 Associated documents
This document sets out, for consultation, our emerging thinking on a new regulatory framework.

  • Published: 4th Jan 2010
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This paper sets out some of the key conclusions from NG’s scenario work on the future of gas.

  • Published: 21st Dec 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This paper examines why the RPI–X approach was adopted in the UK and then sets out the emerging themes from the RPI-X@20 review.

  • Published: 15th Dec 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
Longer-term price controls, paper by Reckon LLP for Ofgem.

  • Published: 2nd Dec 2009
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This paper argues that rewriting the present cost boundaries could remove distortions and result in a more efficient outcome.

  • Published: 2nd Dec 2009
  • Consultations and responses
  • 1 Associated documents
Customer involvement in the regulatory process, the use of ex ante or ex post regulation, and the possibility of customer appeals are important issues.

Pages