RPI-X@20 review

RPI-X@20 was a detailed review of energy network regulation. The review looked at how best to regulate energy network companies to enable them to meet the challenges and opportunities of delivering the networks required for a sustainable, low carbon energy sector.

The RPI-X@20 review resulted in our new RIIO regulatory framework, outlined in the RPI-X@20 decision document.

We also set out more details of how the RIIO model would work in practice in the Handbook for implementing the RIIO model.

Over the course of the RPI-X@20 review we published multiple consultation documents, a series of working papers, consultancy reports and presentations and notes from our engagement with stakeholders. These documents are set out below.

Publications and updates

  • Published: 5th Jul 2010
  • Consultations and responses
  • 1 Associated documents
Stakeholder contributions to Frontier economics report on the future role of benchmarking in regulatory reviews.

  • Published: 5th Jul 2010
  • Consultations and responses
  • 1 Associated documents
Stakeholder contributions to RPI-X@20 working paper on Financeability.

  • Published: 10th Jun 2010
  • Reports and plans
  • 1 Associated documents
Our working paper on the length of the price control period, published on May 2010, set out a “straw man” showing current thinking on this topic.

  • Published: 3rd Jun 2010
  • Reports and plans
  • 4 Associated documents
This is the one-off stakeholder working group meeting on Financeability - summary of discussions.

  • Published: 21st May 2010
  • Reports and plans
  • 3 Associated documents
This report investigates these output categories further.

  • Published: 21st May 2010
  • Reports and plans
  • 5 Associated documents
This report looks at the role of benchmarking in regulatory reviews in light of the RPI-X@20 proposals.

  • Published: 21st May 2010
  • Reports and plans
  • 1 Associated documents
This paper argues that regional networks could be opened up and made contestable in order to promote investment in a low-carbon economy.

  • Published: 19th May 2010
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This is a paper by CEPA on behalf of Ofgem - Providing financeability in a future regulatory framework.

  • Published: 19th May 2010
  • Other
  • 8 Associated documents
This working paper provides more detail of our current thinking on financeability.

  • Published: 7th May 2010
  • Other
  • 9 Associated documents
Regulating energy networks for the future: RPI-X@20, The length of the price control period.

Pages