Background – RPI-X@20 Review

RPI-X@20 was a detailed review of energy network regulation. The review looked at how best to regulate energy network companies to enable them to meet the challenges and opportunities of delivering the networks required for a sustainable, low carbon energy sector.

The RPI-X@20 review resulted in our new RIIO regulatory framework, which was set out in the RPI-X@20 Decision document . We also set out more details of how the RIIO model would work in practice in the Handbook for implementing the RIIO model .

Over the course of the RPI-X@20 review we published multiple consultation documents, a series of working papers, consultancy reports and presentations and notes from our engagement with stakeholders. These documents are set out below.

Publications and updates

  • Published: 4th Oct 2010
  • Decisions
  • 3 Associated documents
This document sets out the Authority’s final decision on the RIIO model for energy network regulation.

  • Published: 4th Oct 2010
  • Guidance
  • 1 Associated documents
RPI-X@20 is Ofgem's detailed review of energy network regulation. We have looked at how best to regulate energy network companies to enable them to meet the challenges and opportunities of delivering the networks required for a sustainable, low carbon...

  • Published: 9th Sep 2010
  • Consultations & responses
  • 29 Associated documents
This document lists the names of respondents to our July 2010 ‘Recommendations’ consultation document.

  • Published: 5th Aug 2010
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
Ofgem’s working paper on financeability includes a proposal for notional gearing to be adjusted for risk to provide an equity buffer against downside risks.

  • Published: 26th Jul 2010
  • Closed: 6th Sep 2010
  • Consultations & responses
  • 6 Associated documents
This document sets out for consultation our recommendations for a new regulatory framework for electricity and gas transmission and distribution network companies. We invite views on all aspects of our recommendations.

  • Published: 22nd Jul 2010
  • Reports & plans
  • 1 Associated documents
This paper uses evidence from regulated water companies to examine the relationship between equity and asset betas.

  • Published: 22nd Jul 2010
  • Reports & plans
  • 1 Associated documents
This paper examines the key variables that lie behind any allowance for the cost of raising equity.

  • Published: 14th Jul 2010
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 1 Associated documents
This is a list of all stakeholder contributions and Ofgem working papers submitted to the RPI-X@20 web forum.

  • Published: 5th Jul 2010
  • Consultations & responses
  • 1 Associated documents
Stakeholder contributions to Frontier economics report on output measures in the future regulatory framework.

  • Published: 5th Jul 2010
  • Consultations & responses
  • 1 Associated documents
Stakeholder contributions to RPI-X@20 working paper on length of the price control.

Pages