Code Governance Review

Many of the technical and commercial rules and obligations that govern participation in Great Britain’s gas and electricity sector are set out in a series of multilateral codes and agreements.

Typically, network operators are obliged under their licences to put these codes in place.  Each code is designed to be capable of modification with the network operators, the signatories to the code and, in some cases, Consumer Focus and other interested parties about to raise modifications. The rules governing how these proposals must be assessed vary from code to code.

Both individually and collectively, the codes significantly impact on the shape and development of the gas and electricity sectors and, by extension on our ability to deliver competitive markets that best protect the consumer interest.

Our Code Governance Review project sought to improve the governance arrangements of these codes and reduce fragmentation. The first phase of this review implemented changes primarily to the gas Uniform Network Code, the Electricity Balancing and Settlement Code and the Connection Use of System Code. The second phase sought to extend the Code Governance Review outcomes to other industry codes and agreements.

 

Publications and updates

  • Published: 17th Feb 2009
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 1 Associated documents
Code Governance Review - Ofgem Workshop - Wednesday 11 Feb 2009 - Nigel Cornwall presentation.

  • Published: 17th Feb 2009
  • Agendas, minutes and presentations
  • 1 Associated documents
Code Governance Review - Ofgem Workshop - Wed 11 Feb 2009 - Eon presentation.

  • Published: 19th Dec 2008
  • Closed: 27th Feb 2009
  • Consultations and responses
  • 31 Associated documents
In this document we consider ways in which the performance of code panels and administrators might be improved in respect of governance structures, quality of analysis and quality of service.

  • Published: 19th Dec 2008
  • Closed: 27th Feb 2009
  • Consultations and responses
  • 31 Associated documents
In this document we consult on two significant additions to the existing code governance arrangements.

  • Published: 21st Nov 2008
  • Closed: 16th Jan 2009
  • Consultations and responses
  • 17 Associated documents
This letter forms part of the Code Governance Review and consults on whether panels and industry should have wider responsibilities to assess environmental impacts.

  • Published: 17th Sep 2008
  • Closed: 16th Jan 2009
  • Consultations and responses
  • 20 Associated documents
In June 2008 we released our decision on the scope of the Review of Industry Code Governance and indicated we would consult on whether to make charging methodologies more accessible and subject to change by market participants and customer representatives

  • Published: 5th Aug 2008
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 7 Associated documents
This letter announces the establishment of the Code Administrators Working Group as part of the Industry Codes Governance Review.

  • Published: 30th Jun 2008
  • Decisions
  • 1 Associated documents
This document sets out the Authority’s conclusions on the scope of the industry codes governance review.

  • Published: 30th Jun 2008
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
An independent critique of the codes governance arrangements, commissioned by Ofgem and prepared by Brattle and Simmons and Simmons.

  • Published: 17th Mar 2008
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
The purpose of this letter is to set out in broad terms the scope of the work that Brattle and Simmons and Simmons (‘the consultants’) will be undertaking and to provide an update on our timetable.

Pages