Code Governance Review

Many of the technical and commercial rules and obligations that govern participation in Great Britain’s gas and electricity sector are set out in a series of multilateral codes and agreements.

Typically, network operators are obliged under their licences to put these codes in place.  Each code is designed to be capable of modification with the network operators, the signatories to the code and, in some cases, Consumer Focus and other interested parties about to raise modifications. The rules governing how these proposals must be assessed vary from code to code.

Both individually and collectively, the codes significantly impact on the shape and development of the gas and electricity sectors and, by extension on our ability to deliver competitive markets that best protect the consumer interest.

Our Code Governance Review project sought to improve the governance arrangements of these codes and reduce fragmentation. The first phase of this review implemented changes primarily to the gas Uniform Network Code, the Electricity Balancing and Settlement Code and the Connection Use of System Code. The second phase sought to extend the Code Governance Review outcomes to other industry codes and agreements.

 

Publications and updates

  • Published: 15th May 2015
  • Closed: 26th Jun 2015
  • Consultations and responses
  • 37 Associated documents
This letter introduces a post implementation review of our Code Governance Review.

  • Published: 7th Jun 2013
  • Decisions
  • 6 Associated documents
See our decision to modify gas and electricity licences to implement the Code Governance Review phase 2 final proposals.

  • Published: 27th Mar 2013
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
Sets out our final proposals under phase two of the Code Governance Review.

  • Published: 27th Mar 2013
  • Closed: 26th Apr 2013
  • Consultations and responses
  • 13 Associated documents
See our statutory consultation on proposed licence modifications to give effect to CGR 2 final proposals.

  • Published: 28th Sep 2012
  • Closed: 23rd Nov 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 26 Associated documents
This consultation sets out our proposals to extend the outcomes of Ofgem’s Code Governance Review to other industry codes.

  • Published: 28th Sep 2012
  • Closed: 23rd Nov 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 6 Associated documents
This consultation sets out illustrative licence drafting to be read alongside our Code Governance Review Phase 2 consultation.

  • Published: 26th Apr 2012
  • Closed: 24th May 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 15 Associated documents
This open letter outlines our intention to proceed with a second phase of the Code Governance Review. We would welcome feedback and comments from interested parties by 24 May 2012.

  • Published: 29th Mar 2012
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 18 Associated documents
Invitation to a code administrators’ working group to review potential amendments to the code administration code of practice (CACoP).

  • Published: 16th Feb 2011
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
This open letter sets out governance options for gas and electricity distribution connection charging methodologies following the workshop held at Ofgem on 8 October 2010.

  • Published: 17th Dec 2010
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
See our open letter which sets out our way forward on Significant Code Reviews.

Pages