Gas Significant Code Review (SCR)

The Significant Code Review (SCR) mechanism is designed to facilitate complex and significant changes to the codes that energy companies are required to abide by. It enables Ofgem to to undertake a review of a code-based issue and play a leading role in facilitating code changes through a review process.

The Gas Security of Supply SCR focuses on measures to enhance security of gas supply by reducing the likelihood, severity and duration of a Gas Deficit Emergency (a period when the supply of available gas is not sufficient to meet GB demand).

Gas SCR proposals include increasing the incentives on shippers to avoid an emergency, encouraging voluntary demand side response, and ensuring that consumers are paid appropriately if their gas supply is interrupted in an emergency.

As part of our Gas Security of Supply Significant Code Review we have held a number of stakeholder engagement events.

 

 

Publications and updates

  • Published: 23rd Jul 2013
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This document summarises responses to our Gas SCR proposed final decision and accompanying impact assessment.

  • Published: 23rd Jul 2013
  • Closed: 24th Sep 2013
  • Consultations and responses
  • 20 Associated documents
This consultation seeks views on the development of a demand-side response tender, as part of the Gas SCR proposals. Please note that the closing date of the consultation has been revised from 17 September to 24 September following stakeholder requests.

  • Published: 31st Jul 2012
  • Closed: 24th Oct 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 28 Associated documents
This document sets out our proposed final decision on policy for cash-out reform under the Gas SCR and seeks views on implementation primarily.

  • Published: 31st Jul 2012
  • Closed: 24th Oct 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 2 Associated documents
This sets out key factors taken into account in reaching the proposed final decision on the Gas SCR. It summarises key findings from the draft IA, stakeholder feedback and our response to this, and our revised assessment. We also seek representations.

  • Published: 8th Nov 2011
  • Closed: 31st Jan 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 2 Associated documents
This document sets out a draft assessment of the impacts of the reform options that have been considered as part of the Draft Policy Decision on the Gas Security of Supply Significant Code Review.

  • Published: 8th Nov 2011
  • Closed: 31st Jan 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 38 Associated documents
This document sets out our Draft Policy Decision on the Gas Security of Supply Significant Code Review.

  • Published: 7th Jul 2011
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
A letter to all interested parties explaining that Ofgem's draft decision on the gas significant code review (SCR) will be published in autumn 2011.

  • Published: 11th Jan 2011
  • Guidance, Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter announces the launch of the Gas SCR. It sets out the scope of the review, the reasons for the review, an indicative timeline and our intended terms of reference.

  • Published: 11th Jan 2011
  • Closed: 22nd Feb 2011
  • Consultations and responses
  • 36 Associated documents
This is our first consultation document for the Gas SCR.

Pages