Retail Market Review

We launched the Retail Market Review in late 2010 due to concerns that the energy market was not working effectively for consumers.

The review recognised that while we had seen some improvements since the 2008 Energy Supply Probe, many of the barriers to effective consumer engagement remained. These barriers included the complexity of tariff options, the poor quality of information provided to consumers and low levels of trust in energy suppliers. 

Where we are now

We have worked with Office of Fair Trading and the Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) to carry out a review of competition in the GB energy market. This found that competition wasn't working as well as it should for consumers and led us to make a market investigation reference to the CMA. You can find out more at State of competition in the energy market assessment.

Following the CMA review we have implemented changes to the Retail Market Review rules and we propose to make further changes. We had always envisaged that a number of the Retail Market Review rules would help to reset the market and would likely be removed over time.

Key publications arising from the Retail Market Review

The key publications arising from the review are our final proposals and the new Standards of Conduct:

Domestic consumers

The Retail Market Review – Implementation of Simpler Tariff Choices and Clearer Information [pdf]
Implementation of the domestic Standards of Conduct –decision to make licence modifications

Non-domestic (micro-business) consumers

Implementation of the Retail Market Review non-domestic proposals – decision to make licence modifications (June 2013)
New standards of conduct for suppliers - business consumers

You can find a full list of all publications associated with the review at the bottom of this page.

Engagement and working groups within the Retail Market Review

We sought significant input from a range of stakeholders within the review. This involved consumer research as well as hosting roundtable discussions with industry stakeholders, including suppliers and consumer groups. You can find out more about our engagement work and view associated publications at:

Retail Market Review: engagement and working groups

Publications and updates

  • Published: 23rd Nov 2011
  • Closed: 15th Feb 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 42 Associated documents
This consultation document builds on the issues we set out in March this year in our Retail Market Review consultation. It focuses on proposals for the non-domestic (business) retail market.

  • Published: 13th Jul 2011
  • Guidance
  • 1 Associated documents
This document provides links to the segmental generation and supply statements by six energy companies for 2010 and updated links for 2009.

  • Published: 22nd Jun 2011
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter updates stakeholders on the process of Ofgem’s Retail Market Review and our intended plan for the coming months.

  • Published: 22nd Jun 2011
  • Reports and plans
  • 1 Associated documents
This document examines how liquidity levels in the GB power market have developed over the course of 2010-2011. It utilises the assessment framework we developed in summer 2010 and therefore complements the high-level findings contained in the RMR

  • Published: 22nd Jun 2011
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter updates stakeholders on the process of Ofgem’s Retail Market Review and our intended plan for the coming months. It focuses on Proposal 2: initiatives to enhance liquidity.

  • Published: 23rd May 2011
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
Guidelines for the Financial Reporting Standard Conditions: 19A of the Gas and Electricity Licences and 16B of the Electricity Generation Licence.

  • Published: 24th Mar 2011
  • Closed: 19th Apr 2011
  • Consultations and responses
  • 1 Associated documents
This document gives an overview of the segmental supply and generation statements results from the Big 6 and proposes how these statements can be improved in the future. It covers some of the key accounting treatments and cross-comparability issues.

  • Published: 21st Mar 2011
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This paper examines themes from the literature on behavioural economics and how these can help us understand consumer behaviour in the energy retail markets.

  • Published: 21st Mar 2011
  • Closed: 1st Jun 2011
  • Consultations and responses
  • 52 Associated documents
This document presents the findings from Ofgem’s Retail Market Review and puts forward a range of initial proposals for consultation. The document has been updated to correct an error in Figure 2.1 and paragraph 2.17.

  • Published: 21st Mar 2011
  • Other
  • 1 Associated documents
This document examines whether customer energy bills respond faster to rising costs compared with falling costs. We describe the modelling technique used, summarise the results from our modelling, and discuss how the results could be interpreted.

Pages