Retail Market Review

We launched the Retail Market Review in late 2010 due to concerns that the energy market was not working effectively for consumers.

The review recognised that while we had seen some improvements since the 2008 Energy Supply Probe, many of the barriers to effective consumer engagement remained. These barriers included the complexity of tariff options, the poor quality of information provided to consumers and low levels of trust in energy suppliers. 

Where we are now

We have worked with Office of Fair Trading and the Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) to carry out a review of competition in the GB energy market. This found that competition wasn't working as well as it should for consumers and led us to make a market investigation reference to the CMA. You can find out more at State of competition in the energy market assessment.

Following the CMA review we have implemented changes to the Retail Market Review rules and we propose to make further changes. We had always envisaged that a number of the Retail Market Review rules would help to reset the market and would likely be removed over time.

Key publications arising from the Retail Market Review

The key publications arising from the review are our final proposals and the new Standards of Conduct:

Domestic consumers

The Retail Market Review – Implementation of Simpler Tariff Choices and Clearer Information [pdf]
Implementation of the domestic Standards of Conduct –decision to make licence modifications

Non-domestic (micro-business) consumers

Implementation of the Retail Market Review non-domestic proposals – decision to make licence modifications (June 2013)
New standards of conduct for suppliers - business consumers

You can find a full list of all publications associated with the review at the bottom of this page.

Engagement and working groups within the Retail Market Review

We sought significant input from a range of stakeholders within the review. This involved consumer research as well as hosting roundtable discussions with industry stakeholders, including suppliers and consumer groups. You can find out more about our engagement work and view associated publications at:

Retail Market Review: engagement and working groups

Publications and updates

  • Published: 21st May 2012
  • Open letters and correspondence
  • 1 Associated documents
This letter updates stakeholders on the process of Ofgem’s Retail Market Review and our intended plan for the coming months

  • Published: 1st May 2012
  • Closed: 30th May 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 8 Associated documents
This document summarises the responses to our January consultation on improving Reporting Transparency and sets out our proposed way forward.

  • Published: 27th Apr 2012
  • Closed: 28th May 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 7 Associated documents
This document sets out our proposal to retain Standard Licence Condition 25A until July 2014 and consult on retaining the associated Guidelines to the condition.

  • Published: 20th Apr 2012
  • Closed: 11th May 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 1 Associated documents
As part of the liquidity project, Ofgem is requesting information from potential trading platform providers in relation to the Mandatory Auction proposal set out in the February consultation document.

  • Published: 24th Feb 2012
  • Closed: 10th Apr 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 15 Associated documents
This consultation presents our 'minded to' position to retain the existing Undue Discrimination Prohibition Standard Licence Condition (‘SLC 25A’) until 31 July 2014.

  • Published: 22nd Feb 2012
  • Closed: 8th May 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 36 Associated documents
This consultation document represents a further step in Ofgem’s Liquidity project. It puts forward a detailed proposal for intervention to improve liquidity in the GB wholesale power market.

  • Published: 6th Feb 2012
  • Closed: 2nd Apr 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 17 Associated documents
This consultation outlines the methodology that may be used to set the standardised element of a standard tariff under Ofgem’s Retail Market Review (RMR).

  • Published: 31st Jan 2012
  • Closed: 27th Mar 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 1 Associated documents
This document gives an overview of the second set of Consolidated Segmental Statements (CSS) from the Big 6 companies relating to 2010 and 2010/11. The CSS show revenues, costs and profits across generation and individual supply segments.

  • Published: 31st Jan 2012
  • Closed: 27th Mar 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 3 Associated documents
This document presents the finding of BDO's review of the Consolidated Segmental Statements, their recommendations and our proposed way forward.

  • Published: 1st Dec 2011
  • Closed: 23rd Feb 2012
  • Consultations and responses
  • 37 Associated documents
This document sets out Ofgem’s proposals and draft impact assessments to enhance competition and improve effective customer engagement in the retail energy market

Pages