Press Release



Promoting choice and value for all gas and electricity customers

R/58

TUESDAY 5 DECEMBER 2006

OFGEM WELCOMES NEW APPOINTMENT TO ITS AUTHORITY

- Professor George Yarrow becomes non-executive member of Ofgem's authority
- Chairman welcomes Secretary of State's appointment
- Professor Yarrow joins the energy regulator at an important time

The announcement today (5 December) by the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry of George Yarrow's appointment to the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority (GEMA) has been welcomed by Authority Chairman, Sir John Mogg.

Professor George Yarrow will be a non-executive member of the Authority which regulates Britain's gas and electricity industries. The Authority steers overall strategy and policy which Ofgem implements.

Professor Yarrow is Director of the Oxford based Regulatory Policy Institute, an independent, charitable organisation dedicated to the study of all aspects of regulation and deregulation. Professor Yarrow is also an Emeritus Fellow of Hertford College, Oxford, and has had a longstanding association with Newcastle University, most recently as Visiting Professor.

Sir John said: "I am delighted to welcome Professor Yarrow to the Authority. He brings a considerable wealth of economic experience and regulatory knowledge.

"Professor Yarrow joins Ofgem amid major change in the energy sector including the UK's increasing dependence on new sources gas as the output from the North Sea fields diminishes.

"Ofgem continues to push for greater transparency and competition in European energy markets and Professor Yarrow's experience will prove an asset in the months ahead which will see not only the results of the European Commission's investigation into energy markets, but also the UK Government's Energy White Paper in March."

Ends

Notes to editors

1. Under the Utilities Act 2000, the Secretary of State appoints members to the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority. Before making these appointments he must consult the Chairman of GEMA – currently Sir John Mogg.

- **2**. Professor George Yarrow has been appointed to serve a three-year term with effect from 1 December 2006 as Non-Executive Member to GEMA.
- **3.** Ofgem is the Office of the Gas and Electricity Markets, which supports the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority, the regulator of the gas and electricity industries in Great Britain. Ofgem's aim is to bring choice and value to all gas and electricity customers by promoting competition and regulating monopolies. The Authority's powers are provided for under the Gas Act 1986, the Electricity Act 1989 and the Utilities Act 2000.
- 4. Membership of the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority

Sir John Mogg - non-executive Chairman
Sir Keith Stuart - non-executive
Professor Len Waverman - non-executive
Dr Robin Bidwell - non-executive
Miriam Greenwood - non-executive
Jayne Scott - non-executive
Judith Hanratty - non-executive
John Wybrew - non-executive
Professor George Yarrow - non-executive
Alistair Buchanan, Chief Executive, Ofgem - executive
David Gray, Managing Director, Networks - executive
Sarah Harrison, Managing Director, Corporate Affairs - executive
Steve Smith, Managing Director, Markets - executive

For further press information contact:

Mark Wiltsher 020 7901 7006/Out of hours 07774 728971 Chris Lock 020 7901 7225 /Out of hours 07766 511 470